Team and League History

WPSL The New England Mutiny have returned to the familiar waters of the WPSL Northeast Conference. In Summer 2012, the Mutiny were a part of the new WPSL ELITE league, playing against three former Women's Professional Soccer (WPS) sides in the Boston Breakers, Western New York  Flash and Chicago Red Stars. WPSL Elite was set up in the void left behind by WPS' decision to suspend operations for their 2012 season.

The Mutiny would go on to register a 6-5-3 record, finishing in fifth place behind the three professional organizations and the team set up by two-time WPS Coach Of The Year Paul Riley. New England fought admirably over the course of the season, which included a 3-3 draw vs. the eventual WPSL Elite champion WNY Flash and a 2-1 victory over the Boston Breakers. Both teams now compete in the fully-professional National Women's Soccer League (NWSL).

The Mutiny was established in 1999 and were formerly known as the Springfield Sirens. The team won the National Championship in 2000 as a member of the amateur women's league - the USISL's W-League. After winning the title, the organization accepted promotion to the Women's Premier Soccer League(WPSL), the highest level of women's soccer in the United States and changed its name to the New England Mutiny in 2002.

East champions The New England Mutiny has been internationally recognized as one of the world's top women's soccer teams, and achieved its highest ranking at No. 14 in the world. In the United States, the team was spotlighted by Soccer Americaas one of the nation's top teams to watch. In 2002, the 12-team WPSL accepted the New England Mutiny as its first-ever East Conference team.

The New England Mutiny has won the Eastern Conference championship in 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007 & 2008 and reached the WPSL National Finals in 2004 & 2007.

The organization's crowning moment occurred on July 29, 2004 when the Mutiny played the Women's National Team of China in a World Cup preparation match, and nearly upset the 5th-ranked team in the world in front of 3000 fans in Agawam, Massachusetts. A stunned Chinese squad trailed the Mutiny 3-1 after 60 minutes of play and eked out a 4-3 victory in the game's final minutes.

Off the field, the team leads the nation in overall attendance. In 2005, New England played host to the WPSL National Final Four. That weekend, over 2,500 fans saw FCI triumph over the California Storm, led by U.S. Women's National Team star & World Cup hero Brandi Chastain.

The Mutiny provide an opportunity for players with professional or national team aspirations and a training ground for top level college players during the summer. Through quality training, competition and interaction, we pride ourselves in helping our players get to that next "level": whether that is All-Conference, All-Region or All-American status in college or the ultimate step for the senior women's player - their respective National Team.

Meghan SchnurThe Women's Premier Soccer League is currently comprised of 70-plus teams and has been in existence since 1998. The only stand-alone national women's soccer league in the country, the WPSL was formed as a regional league serving the western United States and was granted national league status by the U.S. Soccer Federation.

Some of the greatest names in women's soccer history have played in the WPSL, such as Julie Foudy, Brandi Chastain, Sissi, Abby Wambach, Shannon Boxx and many others. Many up-and-coming stars have plied their trade for WPSL teams, who include Alex Morgan, Stephanie Labbe (for the Mutiny), Amy Rodriguez and Megan Rapinoe.

The WPSL is sanctioned by the U.S. Soccer Federation (USSF) with NCAA players being eligible to participate in league competitions. The WPSL's goals are to promote women's soccer at the highest level possible in North America and to do it with class, distinction & respect for the sport but more importantly, the players and the fans. It has successfully brought quality soccer to all levels of the community and promotes the stature of female athletes as role models for our youth.

The WPSL is unique in that it is an open league run by the teams themselves. Each team gets one vote and decides all issues for the entire league. Therefore, the WPSL administrative and managerial staff work for the best interest of the teams in the league.

Anyone can access information about our league such as: current teams, rosters, statistics, schedules, results, constitution and by-laws, forms, meeting minutes and the latest league news at the official league website -

The WPSL season runs from May 1st to August 1st, leaving enough time (two weeks on average) for their collegiate players to get ready for their respective preseasons. Teams can expect to play 10-16 games during the season. There is a league championship tournament (i.e. Final Four) held the last weekend of July of which the location is determined each year.

NoHo crowdCollegiate programs have utilized the WPSL to improve their player's development and sustain their fitness over the summer months. Highly competitive youth clubs have also used the league to expose their players to teams that carry players from every level: national, collegiate, post-collegiate and youth. They can then carry that experience, individually and as a team, into their local league competition in the fall and spring.

The connection with college programs has been paramount to the success of both the youth & senior players of the New England Mutiny. A mutually beneficial partnership exists between the Mutiny and nearly 100 collegiate programs. Over the years, the top collegiate coaches have entrusted their players to the Mutiny in the aims of having them return fit and at a higher skill level. In return, Mutiny youth academy players are provided a pipeline to the network of colleges and universities in which relationships have been cultivated.

© New England Mutiny 2014